Variable Font Workshop
with Typearture

Halfvet X Neon Moiré — Variable font workshop with Typearture

On February 4-6, 2021 we organize our fourth workshop about variable fonts. Workshop leader Arthur Reinders Folmer from Typearture will introduce you to the variable font technology and teach you how to create your own working font and how to implement it in HTML/CSS.

What will be covered?

  • Introduction: what are variable fonts, how does it work, what are the possibilities?
  • Glyphs app: how to create a letter, how to make it variable?
  • Creation: design one or more characters in Glyphs
  • Implementation: export to a variable font file, set up CSS and HTML page
  • Playing: test and refine the variable font

As the workshop is split over three days, in sessions of 2 hours, we will spend day one looking at some of the key things you need to know about variable fonts and start creating or own. In day two we look at the results of day one and introduce color fonts. On day three we look at each other’s color font results and learn how to implement the fonts in HTML/CSS.

What skills do I need?

You know how to draw in a vector based program like Illustrator, Figma, Affinity Design or Inkscape. Nice to have but not necessary: basic knowledge of html, css and Javascript.

What hardware/software do I need?

  • A Mac
  • A vector drawing program as mentioned above
  • A pre-installed version or free trial of Glyphs 3. During the workshop creating variable fonts in Glyphs 2, will be covered as well.
  • Zoom

For Who?

The workshop is open to everyone interested in typeface design and technology.

Details

  • Workshop #4 – Thursday 4, Friday 5 & Saturday 6 February 2021
  • Location: Online
  • The workshop will be given in English
  • Ticket price: €50
  • Glyphs App required

 

Get Your Ticket

Time & Schedule

This workshop is split over three days. Our virtual doors open at 2:45, we start at 3 pm cet. The workshop will be recorded and available for attendees to watch back, to one week after the workshop.

The workshop sessions will run on the following days:

Workshop #4

  • Thu, February 4, 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm cet
  • Fri, February 5, 3:00 pm – 5:00 pm cet
  • Sat, February 6, 3:00 am – 5:00 pm cet

Time around the world

London 2:00 – 4:00 pm
Amsterdam 3:00 – 5:00 pm
Mumbai 7:30 – 9:30 pm
Singapore 22:00 pm – 00:00 am
Sydney 1:00 – 3:00 am
New York 09:00 – 11:00 am
San Francisco 06:00 – 8:00 am
São Paulo 11:00 am – 1:00pm

About Typearture (Workshop Leader)

Typearture is Arthur Reinders Folmer. From his base in Haarlem he runs an illustration and design studio called Arthus and under the name Typearture he creates typefaces which are highly conceptual, illustrative or ornamental.

Arthur likes to play with the limitations of type technology. His fonts are not just collections of glyphs, but typefaces that use the conventions of type design and written language to tell their stories. To weave stories throughout a typeface, connecting A to Z and the Lemniscate to Question mark. To give each character has its place and meaning, making each keystroke a small tale in itself.

With the recent introduction of variable fonts and increasing support for color fonts, his adventures continue, using these new technologies to experiment further, hoping to find new methods for type design and use of typography.

Workshop #1

On February, 15th 2020 Typearture (Arthur Reinders Folmer) give the first one-day variable workshop. The workshop was held at digital design agency GRRR in Amsterdam and hosted by Halfvet and Neon Moiré.

 

Results and Photo’s

 

Workshop 2 & 3

In July 2020 we brought the in-person workshops online, which was a huge succes!

Workshop 4

February 4 – 6, 2021

What attendees say about the workshop!

“Great workshop, with top of the world experts, I’de like to join more workshops like this”
Murad Alshawareb

I can finally make my own Variable Fonts, look out world I’m going to have some fun with this! 😄
Mandy

I think that the outcomes that we all made in such a short space of time prove not only how much Arthur knows about variable fonts, but how he is able to share that knowledge in a way which enables people to understand complex ideas and start making amazing things straight away.
Richard McDonald

A really good workshop to get an understanding of the used technology behind variable fonts in general and of variable color fonts in special.
Stefanie Bitzigeio

I was one of the three people who got a free ticket for this workshop, so I’m grateful for that and for getting the chance to learn about this novel technology with an outstanding professional as Arthur. 100% recommended!
Carlos Nigredo

“Inspirational and enriching workshop to explore new possibilities in typographic design.”
Rubén Chumillas

I’ve always been a fan of kinetic typography but I never used GlyphsApp to move my type before. Now I can’t imagine using anything else!
Niyati

Exploring the near future of type design right now!
Rob de Bree

Arthur’s little tricks got me straight & smoothly to where I wanted to go: be able to build, colour and play with a variable font !
— Marie.

About the hosts

Jeroen Disch is Design Lead at digital design agency GRRR. Also writer of Halfvet, a biweekly newsletter about digital design and typography. 

Thomas Dahm is an independent graphic designer/developer and creator of Neon Moiré, an online platform for design conference organizers and visitors.

Questions?

Contact us at submit@neonmoire.com

 

Code of Conduct and Terms